Another View: STEM is a Problem, Not a Solution

  • My blog posts are also posted on Facebook. People seem to be more inclined to comment on Facebook for some reason. Here is one response to my last blog post on the education crisis. For those who only read the blog at this site, I’m posting an interesting reaction to it.
  • I hate to say this (and I’m sure that I’ll be bombarded with negative responses), but one of the problems with education IS STEM. In so many places, the fine arts and performing arts have been abandoned in favor of adding additional requirements for students in other disciplines. We’re going to end up with a generation of young people that can execute based upon formulas, yet don’t have the ability to figure out how and why they’re doing something.
Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Another View: STEM is a Problem, Not a Solution”

  1. Rusty Courson Says:

    Well, as a disclaimer, I am a lifelong music educator/band director working on my doctorate. I’ve done a great deal of research on the topic and there are definitely supporters on both sides of the fence. Just think…if you hadn’t been in band with Mr. Barr back in high school, you might not have become the outstanding journalist that we all looked up to back in the day:-) Rusty Courson

  2. Rusty Courson Says:

    Just to clarify, make sure that your readers know I’m 100% in support of making sure our students are prepared to succeed in the 21st century, and I understand the importance of the objectives of STEM. I just believe that you can’t have one without the other. About 20 years ago, I got somewhat disenfranchised with education and decided I wanted to do something else, so I applied for a job at TSYS (fortunately…someone convinced me that I was needed in the education community, and I’ve been at Smiths Station ever since). A VP that I was interviewing with told me he wanted to introduce me to someone…and brought a gentleman into his office that was a violinist with the Columbus Symphony. They both shared that the second highest concentration of degrees for TSYS employees (other than computer science and programming) was MUSIC . One other thing and I’ll leave you alone lol. I took a creative writing class my senior year at good old Central High School, and the teacher was none other than Tom Hackett, so surely the provost at CSU can understand the importance of the arts in education. BTW…tell Dr. Hackett I said hello if you speak with him .

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,427 other followers

