Premier Podcast: Eddy Arnold, Ray Charles and Dick’s World

What do Eddy Arnold and Ray Charles have in common and what do they have to do with this blog? Find out by clicking on the link below.

dicksworld_2000 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Premier Podcast: Eddy Arnold, Ray Charles and Dick’s World”

  1. Pradeep Says:

    Enjoyed listening to the podcast. In fact this the second one of yours I am listening to. I’ve been quite fascinated by the new technology. In fact, my childhood interest was in radio, listening to which I grew up. But opportunities in print medium were more so, I joined a newspaper (now with The Times of India). Podcast, I guess, will be able to help me at least partially fulfil my interest. I have been reading up a bit on it, but haven’t fully understood it. Don’t we need a software or an application to upload a soundclip, like we upload a photo or video clip? Would be greateful if you could explain. May be you could mail me, if it’sn’t too much of a trouble.

  2. dicksworld Says:

    Good hearing from you, Pradeep.

    Fortunately I have a son with a degree in computer science who sets things like that up for me. However, I can tell you this much. You have to record your podcast on a site like Audacity, then save it, then upload it to MP3. Different hosting sites do it in slightly different ways, but on this one, WordPress, you download it by clicking a link which takes you to another link where you search for the MP3 file, then you select the track from that file, open it and the audio link is downloaded and comes up on the posting page.

    There is an extra cost if you are using a free blog site because audio takes a lot of space on a server, but it’s not expensive. If you are not using a free site, your host may already be providing space so there would be no extra charge. It just depends on your hosting site.

    I don’t know if I could ever have learned how to do it if my son had not given me written instructions that I follow. These young folks – he’s 49 – really know this computer stuff.

    Not only did he set it up for me, but he and his wife and my grandsons gave me a professional microphone for Christmas that has a USB connection. I am a fortunate dad, indeed.

    I enjoy being able to do one every now and then and think you probably will, also. Good luck!

  3. Kurt Says:

    Ray Charles did record at least one song written by Arnold that I know of: “You Don’t Know Me”. There may have been others.

Leave a Reply

