Early Voting Takes Patience

 

  I asked one man as he was leaving how long it took him to vote.

  “I got here at 12:15 this afternoon.”

  “It took you more than four hours to vote?”

  “Right. They should have had a hundred people – well, a lot more people – up there signing in people instead of the few they had.”

  But, he wanted to vote badly enough to wait that long. That’s encouraging.

Voting at Columbus Public Library

Voting at Columbus Public Library

  Hundreds of people were still standing in line at 5 p.m. closing time, but they were not waiting in vain as voting continued after 5.  

  I heard Columbus Elections Supervisor Nancy Boren telling a WRBL-TV reporter that she expects 30-thousand people to vote early this year, which is about 10-thousand more that voted early in the 2004 presidential election.

    I have been around a pretty long time and I have never seen anything like this before at election time. Maybe it’s because there is so much at stake.

Voting line at Columbus Public Library

Voting line at Columbus Public Library

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Early Voting Takes Patience”

  1. dicksworld Says:

    I think it is more than worth it, but then, I voted weeks ago and it only took me about ten minutes.

  2. Rick Says:

    I happened to be in downtown Cumming, GA for jury duty. Took 30 minutes to vote at the courthouse during lunch. It was painless and I’m glad I did it. I’m sure it will be a different story next Tuesday.

  3. Joann Locascio Says:

    Imagine what it would be like on election day without early voting? We’ve had nearly 4500 early voters in Harris County so far! I voted last Thursday and we waited about 30 minutes. Change sure does feel great! 🙂

Leave a Reply

