Thoughts on Thanksgiving

  It all started at Plymouth Plantation in 1621 when the Pilgrims and friendly Indians sat down together for the first Thanksgiving banquet – right? Not according to Wikipedia. Actually, the first Thanksgiving gathering was held at what is now St. Augustine, Florida on September 8, 1565. Maybe the reason that the Plymouth Plantation Thanksgiving is generally credited with being the first is because St. Augustine in 1565 was under Spanish rule, while Plymouth Colony belonged to the British in 1621.

Wikipedia)

The First Thanksgiving, painting by Jean Louis Gerome Ferris (Courtesy: Wikipedia)

 Well that was then and this is now, as the saying goes. And now it’s the day when families gather to have turkey and dressing and just…well…be together. It’s simple enough but it has an incredible attraction to it. Airport, train, and bus terminals, and highway fill up as people travel short and great distances to be with their families. I read where 60-million are doing it this year. I’m one of those 60-million because I am visiting with my son, daughter-in-law, and two grandsons in Cumming, Georgia, which is about 120 miles north of Columbus. I’m thankful they don’t live a thousand miles away, but if they did and they invited me, I’d be on a plane just like millions of others. I’m no more immune to the compulsion than anyone else.

  I am thankful for a number of things, but I won’t get corny and tick them off…well, only one, the one that concerns you. I’m thankful that you visit this site and promise to try hard to make it worth your while. HAPPY THANKSGIVING!

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

