Let’s Hope NBC’s Experiment with a Prime Time Jay Leno Show Works

  Finally, one of the networks has realized that there is a prime time audience for talk/variety shows. I have been saying for years that most nights the best things are The Tonight Show with Jay Leno and the David Letterman program.

Jay Leno (U.S. Navy Photo)

Jay Leno (U.S. Navy Photo)

  I have been watching them in prime time for some time now. I simply record them and play them back when I want to see them.  When Leno moves to 10:00 p.m., I’ll record the shows for at least 2o minutes so I can fast forward  through all of the commercials. Digital video recording is one of the bext things that happened  to TV program consumers. 

  I’ll get to see the whole show by a little after 11:00 p.m., which is ideal because I’ll be able to watch the Daily Show with Jon Stewart at about 11:10,  again sans commercials.

  NBC is going to save a pile of money because the Tonight Show is a lot cheaper to produce than scripted dramas.  The Tonight Show is NBC’s most profitable progam. So the prime time audience gets what television does best,  talk/variety, and NBC will save a lot of money, but this move will hurt the Hollywood studios that produce scripted dramas.

  I do hope that Jay will feature guests such as stand-up comedians, musical groups, and singers, a little more and him a little less.  I like him, but I also like variety.  Also, I’d like to see more of his unusal cars.

Jay Leno in his Hispano-Suiza 8 (Photo by Alan Light)

Jay Leno in his Hispano-Suiza 8 (Photo by Alan Light)

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “Let’s Hope NBC’s Experiment with a Prime Time Jay Leno Show Works”

  1. Cris Cohen Says:

    I am waiting for them to announce that, based on ratings research, they have decided to re-run the first hour of the Superbowl every night at 9:00.

Leave a Reply

