A Very Unusual Boat Show

When I pulled into Lake Oliver Marina to check out the boat show,  I couldn’t find the boat show.  I expected to see boats all over the parking lot.  Turns out the boats for sale were on the water,  and there were only four of them, and none was cheap,  ranging in prices from $24,000 to $44,000.  But,  before I had left I realized I had just attended the most enjoyable boat show ever. 

John McCroskey, President, Singleton Marine Group,  Blue Creek Marina, Fafeville, Alabama,  taking me for a ride on Lake Oliver

John McCroskey, President, Singleton Marine Group, Blue Creek Marina, Dadeville, Alabama, taking me for a ride on Lake Oliver

The president of Singleton Marine Croup, which has stores on Lake Martin, Lake Lanier, Lake Oconee, Lake Hartwell and Lake Burton, and is headquartered at Blue Creek Marina on Alabama’s Lake Martin,  personally took me out for a ride on a plush Harris FloteBote.  And it wasn’t because it was me.  He had just taken out a family of about six people before he offered me a ride.

“If I can get someone to go out on the water with me,  the odds are very high that he’ll end up buying a boat from me,  maybe not on that day nor the boat we rode in,  but some boat that my company sells,”  John McCroskey told me.

John McCroskey getting ready to cast off for our ride on Lake Oliver

John McCroskey getting ready to cast off for our ride on Lake Oliver

Since I had no intention of buying the $24,000 Harris pontoon boat he was showing me, I thought maybe I shouldn’t take him up on his offer of a ride,  but I explained to him that I was going to feature the boat show on my blog, and decided to take a little spin around Lake Oliver.  He was happy to oblige.

We had a very pleasant time on the lake.  Boating on a big pontoon boat can be a very relaxing experience.  I showed him the former Bill Heard mansion that he could pick up for $19 million if he desired.  As we approached it he said, “It looks like a hotel.”

$19,000,000 mansion on Lake Oliver formerly owned by Bill Heard, Jr.

$19,000,000 mansion on Lake Oliver formerly owned by Bill Heard, Jr.

I said, “it reminds me of one of those 1930’s Hollywood movie star mansions.”

“Right, you can almost see Clark Gable standing on the patio,”  he rejoined.

Then John, getting into the swing of the picture taking, spotted a house with an elaborate flower garden,  and  said,  “Those are some beautiful flowers.”

“Can you get a little closer?”

“Sure,”  he said as he swung the Harris around.

House with nice garden on Lake Oliver

House with nice garden on Lake Oliver

Actually,  I have been thinking about maybe getting a small boat to enjoy cruising again on our wonderful Chattahoochee River – in past years I have owned one motor boat and three sail boats – so I asked him if he had anything cheaper.

“We have one for $1 4,000.  When you add the trailer and hitch it’ll bring it up a couple thousand.”

“How big is it?”

“20 feet.”

The $24, 000 doozy we were riding in is 24 feet.  That meant I could get a pontoon boat that is 4 feet shorter for $10,000 less.  I’m not saying I’ll buy a boat, but if I do, it will probably be from John McCroskey.  He’s a likable good ole boy who gave me an enjoyable Saturday afternoon boat ride on a $24,000 boat.  Thanks John.

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “A Very Unusual Boat Show”

  1. John McCroskey Says:

    It was my pleasure to take you for a spin and all the others that took a ride.
    Lake Oliver is a great place.
    Thanks for the comments, I enjoy meeting nice folks and you were top of the list yesterday.
    and when you do decide to buy that boat of your dreams, give me a shout….I find what your looking for and make sure you get a great deal too.
    It’s a great day for Boating….and always will be for me!
    JM

Leave a Reply

