The Universal Language Prevailed at the Schwob of School of Music Convocation

Since some of my family members say they enjoy my blog when it’s not political, I will get back to some non-political posts.  I don’t promise I won’t do some future politicals because, well, I’m involved and interested in politics.  I can’t help it if some people just don’t think correctly politically.  I love them anyway. 

And I love music, especially really good stuff. I realize that “good stuff” is in the ear of the beholder, but I can’t help it if a lot of beholders like…well…substandard music.  I heard some really good stuff at the Columbus State University Schwob School of Music Convocation today.  There were also some speeches.  Music is the universal language.  You don’t even to have to understand the words to relish it. 

Zachary Bryant, tenor, Schwob School of Music 2010-2011 Opening Convocation

I didn’t understand the words that tenor Zachary Bryant sang when he rocked Legacy hall with Die beiden Grenadiere by Robert Schumann, but I didn’t need to.  I felt the emotion without understanding the words. Actually, sometimes it’s better not to understand the words.  After Googling it,  I learned the song is about  French prisoners of war returning from Russia after Napoleon got his butt kicked by the Russian winter and Russian Army.  It concludes with the French national anthem La Marseillaise, which is quite stirring.  Also after watching a YouTube video which has a great rendention of Marseillaise and which translates the French into English, I learned that Marseillaise is really quite bloody.  I also liked it a lot better before I understood the words. 

There were no words to Tchaikovsky’s Valse-Scherzo so I didn’t need to look it up online.  There is no way they could have improved on the emotion that piece conveyed when marvelously played by Jing Yang on the violin and Yien Wang on the piano. Brilliant!  

As far as the speeches were concerned,  Dr. Tim Mescon, Columbus State president, told the new freshman they were joining a globally connected  music school, pointing out that, as one example,  Professor Joseph Golden, the school’s organist and opera director,  has been invited by the European Union to participate in an international organ event.  

Dr. Fred Cohen, Schwob’s director, pointed out the importance of engagement and mastery of musical performance.  That’s something at which the school has been successful at for as long as I can remember.  Those fresh-faced freshmen, lapping up today’s musical feast and responding with thunderous  applause, no doubt have  something in common with the students of the past:  impressive talent.  They wouldn’t be there if they didn’t.  No one gets in without an audition, and a lot more audition than are selected.  And where do they come from?  All over the world, and from some of the world’s most prestigious music schools, schools like Julliard. 

If you really like good music, do yourself a favor and attend some of the many public performances offered by Schwob every year.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

