2010 Yearender

My son Rick's backyard, Cumming, GA

 With just a few days left in 2010, it’s time to look back at the highlights of the year.

At the top of my list right now, though it is certainly not the top story of the year, is the fact that parts of Georgia had a rare white Christmas. The picture above was sent to me Christmas day by my son Rick to show that, indeed, folks in the Atlanta area were experiencing a snowy Christmas day. This is the first Atlanta white Christmas in more than a hundred years, I learned on CBS Sunday Morning, one of the best programs on television. It was also reported that it is the first white Christmas in Birmingham in recorded history.

Snow in the South is usually welcomed because of the novelty.  It’s usually not around long enough to present much of a problem. People who live where it’s not a novelty don’t appear to welcome it all that much. After a few days of snowball fights, fashioning snowmen, and sledding down hills, a lot of them must make plans to move South, because there has been a huge migration into the South over the years. When I worked in Atlanta in 1957, the metropolitan area population clock showed a million people. Now, it’s more than 5 million and growth continues.

As I said, this tops my 2010 list because it is happening right now. We had a little snow in Columbus yesterday, and I have seen a few tiny snowdrops today.

Between now and New Years Day, I’ll be taking a look at the 2010 events that have stood out with me.

I am also interested in your thoughts about the top events of 2010.  Just click the “Comment” button below and tell us, if you like.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

