Join Me at the Library

It’s Monday so that means I need to come up with something to post because I’ve promised to try to have a new post on Monday – well, Sunday night sometimes.  I have a few things in my blog oven, but the only one ready to serve is an invitation for you to come to the Friends Book Store at the Columbus Public Library.  I work in the store every Thursday from 2 to 4 p.m., and the time passes quicker when I stay busy ringing up sales so I thought maybe you might like to come by and buy a book.

 I hope to be there this Thursday, but I have to be honest with you. I fell again.  Two weeks ago I fell and hit my head on a sidewalk, but that didn’t interfere with my Thursday volunteer job. However, this time I stumbled on a step in the Bill Heard Theater,fell forward, and rolled on my side when I hit the carpeted floor, causing me to land on my left leg. I don’t think I broke anything, but there is pain so I’ll have to wait to see what the doctor says after the x-rays.

  If I am there Thursday, I will bring an interesting novel I just finished called American Rust by Phillip Meyer. It’s a New York Times Notable Book of the Year, and a Washington Post Top Ten Book of the Year. I paid about $15 for it at Barnes and Nobel. It’ll go for $4 at the book store.  First come, first serve.  Do I recommend it? I do, but I have to warn you that it’s not all sweetness and light.  The goings on in an economically devastated Pennsylvania steel town can get rough. 

  I’m sure it will come as no surprise to you,  but people who work in the bookstore are among its best customers.  I just bought David Baldacci’s The Collectors.  I am a Baldacci fan.  It’s not Hemingway or Steinbeck, but a good action packed and mysterious ride. This one, a hardback,  sold for $26.99 new. I picked it up for $3.

Maybe I’ll see you Thursday, if my injuries allow it, and if you come. If I’m not there, they’ll sell you a book, anyway.  I hope I will be there. I enjoy meeting the interesting folks that come in to buy books, and I like the idea of helping raise money for the library. I think public libraries are extremely important in a democratic republic. It’s a lot harder to fool people who do a lot of reading and fooling people is what a lot of politicians really care about. Unfortunately, they often succeed.  But, an informed public makes it harder to do.   

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

