I’M BACK AND SO ARE THE DEMOCRATS AND REPUBLICANS

WHO DO YOU THINK WILL WIN: OBAMA OR ROMNEY?

Since a couple of readers of my blog asked me why I haven’t posted anything for a while, I guess I’ll take the time to post something.

Moving and settling into my new digs have taken most of my attention for the past few weeks, and doing  things like going to Savannah for a weekend has also played a role in my lack of blogging. I have been doing some really short Facebook posts. It’s a lot easier to post things on FB. 

Both of the Republican and Democratic nominating conventions took place since the last time I posted. The event that stood out the most to me  was the speech by former President Bill Clinton.  He is probably the best political speaker to  come along in the last thirty years.  He knows how to phrase sentences in a direct, simple, human, and highly effective manner. He lied about Monica Lewinsky when he was president, but he didn’t lie about anything that I know of when he spoke last week. He appears to have gone to great lengths to get his facts right.  

What’s interesting, also about him, is that he apparently has been forgiven for his personal trespasses during his last years in the White House. He has an approval rating  higher than either President Obama or Governor Romney.   He is still  “the comeback kid.” 

The speech that stood out  the most to me at  the Republican convention was the improvised comedy routine performed by movie star Clint Eastwood. The image of his talking to an empty chair representing President Obama remains the most vivid one  of the GOP gathering. Economist Paul Krugman said Eastwood symbolized the Republican base:  old white men. 

When Pat Hart and I co-ficilitate a current affairs class called “What’s Happening?” for the Columbus Academy for Lifelong Learning for the Fall Quarter we are going to ask class participants to anonymously write down who they think will win, not who they hope will win.  We’ll compile the percentages to see how well they guessed when the election is over. You’re invited to do the same thing here. Just click on the “comments” button and write either Obama or Romney, and we’ll see how close our prognosticators come.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “I’M BACK AND SO ARE THE DEMOCRATS AND REPUBLICANS”

  1. Joann Cangialosi Locascio Says:

    If the republicans don’t steal it – Obama will win a second term. 😀

  2. webuiltitblog Says:

    The Dems convention was all razzle dazzle. They can’t run on the main issue, which is the economy, so they are trying to obscure it by talking about minor relatively unimportant issues, such as abortion, which polls show is not even in the top ten, and likeability, which is irrelevant. See my blogs at webuiltitblog.

  3. James McPherson Says:

    Barring a dramatic change, Obama will win.

Leave a Reply

